Scroll to top - Malta Leading Through Innovation

The Board

The Board of Governors is primarily responsible to attain the objectives of the Foundation to the best of its abilities.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, directed by the Board of Governors, is primarily responsible for the overall performance, management and implementation of the strategic vision and mission of the Foundation.

The Executive Committee is made up of the following members:

Mr. Mark Bugeja


Mark Bugeja is a seasoned entrepreneur having over 30 years’ experience in the Education, HR, Travel, IT, Marketing and Catering fields.

Mr. Francois Grech

Deputy Chairman

Francois Grech is a tech entrepreneur with over 20 years’ experience in corporate IT strategy, digital transformation, application of innovative technology and solution delivery.

Mr. Wayne Grixti

Chief Executive Officer

Wayne Grixti is the Chief Executive Officer at and Chairman of the MDIA. He was formerly the CTO of AirMalta and the MDIA and has chaired the Malta.AI Taskforce.

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is primarily responsible to attain the objectives of the Foundation to the best of its abilities.

The Board of Directors were appointed by the Government of Malta and the Malta Chamber of Commerce, Enterprise and Industry.

The Board of Directors is made up of the following members:

Mr. Gordon Micallef

Board Member

Gordon Micallef has over twenty years experience in Digital Strategy, Customer Experience, and Cyber Risks services and is a Partner at a leading accounting and advisory firm for Business and Technology Consulting services.

Mr. Anthony Sultana

Board Member

Anthony has been in the profession for more than 25 years and has practised both in Malta and abroad. He also formed part of other governmental boards in 2019 & 2020.

Dr. Marthese Portelli

Board Member

Mr. Dolan Debattista

Mr. Dolan Debattista

Board Member

Ms. Karen Demicoli

Ms. Karen Demicoli

Board Member

Ms. Roberta Fenech

Ms. Roberta Fenech

Board Member

Ms. Roberta Zerafa

Ms. Roberta Zerafa

Board Member

Previous Board Members

Below is a list of previous employees who have contributed their share to the growth of

Mr. Roland Scerri (2019 – APR 2023)

Dr. Andy Ellul (2019 – APR 2021)

Mr. Noel Mifsud (2020 – SEP 2022)

Mr. Dario Vella (2020 – NOV 2020)

Ms. Dana Farrugia (2019 – AUG 2022)

Ms. Marouska Pisani Bugeja (2019 – APR 2020)

Mr. Marcel Cutajar (2019 – MAY 2022)

Ms. Jillian Spiteri (2019 – APR 2020)

Mr. Marlon Brincat (2020 – APR 2021)

Mr. Frank V. Farrugia (2019 – APR 2020)

Mr. Charles Scerri (2019 – MAR 2021)

Mr. Raymond Spiteri (2019 – APR 2020)

Let's make something great together!

Want to know more on how we can assist you to reach your business goals?